It's about time I share my experience of competing at both 70.3 & Ironman World Championships in Vegas and Kona, and the 2013 season.

I competed at the 70.3 Ironman World Championships back in September. If I'm honest I didn't feel like talking about it then, and I don't feel like talking about it now but it's important to share both the highs and lows of an athletes season.

I was excited to be there but I wasn't confident, particularly about the swim. Training had gone well in the build up but I was missing that edge. I arrived a few days before so was well into the taper and had just a few sessions to keep the legs sharp. Adjusting to the time difference was not a problem but the heat was going to play a part in everyone's race.

Race day, and the conditions were poor. My wave was one of the last to go, just before
08:00. A little later than I like. As our wave was called, we walked to the swim start and waded into the water and headed to the start line. The horn went and it had begun. There's not much else to say about the swim apart from how shocking it was. I exited the water in 37:00. When I looked at my watch I wondered if I had started my watch early somehow?! No...it was just a very poor swim! No excuses! It knocked my confidence but I still had a long way to go to the finish so I forgot about it momentarily and got on with my plan.

The bike course is a challenging course with big rolling roads and some challenging climbs. Especially the last 10k where it would be all up hill. I had so much time to make up from the swim, I knew a good place finish was out of the question. I tried to claw back some minutes on the bike without going too hard and having nothing for the run which is my strongest discipline. My bike split was not quick but within my target range if not the slower end.

Running of the bike, the legs felt good but I knew it was a hard run course. I knew I would make up a lot of time here and I could regain some dignity back. I ran well and did gain a few places in the process.

On reflection, I don't think I pushed as hard as I should or could have. It's been a long season, one consisting of various distances and pacing was definitely an issue at Vegas.

However, it was a great experience and I had achieved one of my season goals. I still had the biggest race of the season ahead of me and used the Vegas experience as preparation for the Ironman World Championships in Kona.

I arrived a week before the race. It was an epic journey and unfortunately took its toll on my immune system and I became ill the day after the journey. I was worried that it might happen but I had a week to try and get over it. Over the next few days I had some practice swims on the course, got out on the bike course and ran sections of the marathon. The work was done so it was just a case of keeping everything sharp without expending too much energy. Fortunately the cold I caught had not gone to my chest which would have made things a lot worse especially with the humidity! I loaded up on lemon and ginger tea and rested at every opportunity.

Hawaii is stunning! In between training and the obligatory registrations and check-ins I did get a chance to visit some interesting places. It was an opportunity to relax and take my mind of the race.

Soon enough race day had arrived. I was nervous but really excited. This was my biggest goal of the season and I was going to enjoy every experience no matter what as well as testing myself against the best long distance athletes in the world.

After body marking I checked my bike and attached my nutrition. The adrenaline was pumping and I was in the zone. We gathered at the swim start and pored into the sea.

After Vegas I was expecting the worst. As I've said the swim is by far my worst discipline so when I exited the water in
1:10, which is still a slow swim to many other athletes, I was pleased. It was about damage limitation and achieving a sub 10 hour race which I was confident in doing.

The bike course is undulating with a few challenging climbs. The biggest test was the ascend up to Hawi. It wasn't a steep gradient but about 25k of just sitting in the saddle and grinding it out. Their was a tail wind most of the way out so the legs were feeling good before the climb. At the turn around point it was downhill the majority of the way so it was a good opportunity to spin the legs out although the wind was now playing a major factor in the race. For the last 50-60k, the wind was directly against us. It was a mental and physical battle with the elements. Intensity was at my upper range but it was a risk I was willing to take.

Coming into T2 I wasn't feeling as good as I wanted but that's racing. Sometimes you have to push beyond your limits to see where you are. You don't know the possibilities one can achieve unless you really test yourself. Kona was as much a learning experience as it was a race to me.

The first 20k of the marathon was good and my pace was ok. Out along Alii Drive the support from the crowds and volunteers was unbelievable. As I reached the Queen K and halfway point I was still feeling good. The QK is a long stretch of undulating road. You can see far into the distance at what lies ahead. It was hot and I was putting ice in places you'd never put it on normal occasions!! As I reached the Energy Labs I really started to tire. I still had about 10k to go and this was the toughest part of the race. The finish is within reach so the brain urges you to ease off. I believe every athlete will go through that stage at some point and is definitely a challenge a chance to see how mentally tough you are. Sometimes all it takes is a surge of intensity or hold race pace and the body will accept it again. This was not happening for me unfortunately. As I neared the finish, I soaked up the atmosphere and crossed the line in
9:56. I was pleased to go under 10 hours but I know it was not my best race by far.

After a successful season I have learned so much. I've made a lot of mistakes along the way but I've become a better athlete because of it.

I have to thank my coach Perry who I've been with for 16 months now. A great friend and coach who I'm really looking forward to continue working with and achieving bigger and better things for the 2014 season. Also a very big thank you to Team Dillon for their great support throughout the season. I want to thank my fiancé Lauren who has to put up with me, but also gives me the love and support I need to keep me going. Without my Mum, Dad and sister, I wouldn't be able to chase my dreams and aspirations so a special thank you to them.


Smashy
11/8/2013 03:04:08 am

Welldone Kyle. Wishing you the very best next season.

Reply



Leave a Reply.